Time Zones when travelling in Australia

When travelling in your motorhome hire in Australia, it is good to know that you may be crossing time zones.  We often get asked questions about this

Beautiful coastal rest area travelling in the Motorhome Hire

Beautiful coastal rest area travelling in the Motorhome Hire

and how daylight savings works in Australia.  We thought we’d share a little more information on this to assist your holiday planning.

Does Australia Time observe Daylight Saving Time?

Daylight Saving Time is observed in New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia, Tasmania, and the Australian Capital Territory.  This starts and finishes on the same date across all states .

Daylight savings always starts on the first Sunday in October and ends on the first Sunday in April – good to know when you’re travelling in your Motorhome Hire that this is synchronised across the states.

Queensland, Western Australia and the Northern Territory do not observe daylight saving.

Where daylight saving is being observed:

  • AEST becomes Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT), and clocks are advanced to UTC +11.
  • ACST becomes Australian Central Daylight Time (ACDT), and clocks are advanced to UTC +10 ½.

Australian Eastern Standard Time        

Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) is equal to Coordinated Universal Time plus 10 hours (UTC +10).

AEST is followed in these regions:

  • New South Wales (except Broken Hill)
    Relax in your Motorhome Hire through out Australia

    Relax in your Motorhome Hire through out Australia

  • Victoria
  • Queensland
  • Tasmania
  • Australian Capital Territory

Australian Central Standard Time      

Australian Central Standard Time (ACST) is equal to Coordinated Universal Time plus 9 ½ hours (UTC +9 ½).

ACST is followed in these regions:

  • South Australia
  • Northern Territory
  • Broken Hill, NSW

Australian Standard Western Time

Australian Western Standard Time (AWST) is equal to Coordinated Universal Time plus 8 hours (UTC +8).AWST is followed in these regions:

  • Western Australia

Example of Time Zones

An example help you with your planning for your motorhome hire holiday at our depots, if the time were:

Fancy some bushwalking when travelling in your Motorhome Hire?

Fancy some bushwalking when travelling in your Motorhome Hire?

Winter (no daylight savings)

  • 5pm in Cairns, Brisbane, Sydney, Melbourne and Hobart
  • 4.30pm in Adelaide, Alice Springs and Darwin
  • 3pm in Perth

Summer (with daylight savings)

  • 5pm in Cairns and Brisbane
  • 6pm in Sydney, Melbourne and Hobart
  • 5.30 pm in Adelaide
  • 4.30pm Alice Springs and Darwin
  • 3pm in Perth

Hopefully this helps you with your planning and understanding of the different time zones within Australia when you are travelling in your Motorhome Hire.  Let us know if you have any other questions concerning the time zones when considering a campervan hire in Australia.  We are specialists in Camper Hire in Australia, and can answer any questions that you may have.

You may like an idea of costs and vehicle options for your planned route with a campervan hire in Australia – please let us know if you’d like a Camper Hire Quote.

Exploring the area around Karijini NP In a Motorhome Hire

Exploring the area around Karijini NP In a Motorhome Hire